A few weird things happening

James, modified 4 Years ago at 1/24/20 8:03 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 1/24/20 7:54 PM

A few weird things happening

I’m new in these parts and don’t have the lingo down — but, I’d appreciate any thoughts around some of the things I’ve been experiencing.  I’ll try to keep it from getting too long:

Background:
I started meditation about 7 months ago.  First, it was just a casual ‘need to relax’ thing.  20 minutes a day for the first few weeks.  Quickly I progressed to 45 minutes, then a couple of 45 minute sessions a day with often some walking meditation too.  I now try to do about 75 minutes in the AM and another 30 - 45 in the evening.  

Some random happenings:
  • About 2 months ago, while doing an extended walking meditation outside, all of a sudden I had this feeling of great clarity sweep over me and the words nama rupa appeared in my head.  I felt exceptionally clearheaded for a day or two after that.  I had heard nama rupa in a dharma talk — but, I didn’t know what it meant and had to go look it up.  It was probably the most striking thing to have happened so far.
  • Very vivid and weird dreams — like having a liver growing on your face, feeling it, being disgusted by it, going to a mirror and having it fall away and feeling relief, like some big part of you was shed.  The vivid dreams seemed to be a phase that has largely passed for the past few weeks.  But I had another a couple of nights ago.
  • Overwhelming desire to listen to dharma talks — you tube, Goldstein/Kornfield books, Ajahn Brahm, Ajahn Chah audio books, etc…. Dharma feels like a comforting blanket.  I’m finding myself making good choices, being much more concerned about right speech, action, etc.  This has been going on for 90 days or so.