RE: Starting Teaching Jordi 1/30/20 9:38 AM
RE: Starting Teaching Che Guebuddha 1/31/20 5:32 PM
RE: Starting Teaching Bill T 2/1/20 7:08 AM
RE: Starting Teaching Chris M 2/1/20 9:55 AM
RE: Starting Teaching Bill T 2/1/20 11:15 AM
Bill T, modified 4 Years ago at 2/1/20 7:05 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 1/26/20 4:52 AM

Starting Teaching

[EDIT - Just to be clear, I'm not rushing into anything. As I keep on getting the same kind of "BEWARE, YOUNG PADWAN" responses. For context, I'm currently looking into MBSR teacher-training and other 'shallows' stuff. Not looking to go and set up my own Ashram with "Behold, Bill, the Enlightened Master" carved in gold over my head.

OK, thanks for your understanding.]

--------------

I'm feeling inspired to start teaching meditation in some capacity. This thread is a request for advice on teaching, and also an offer of help.

Background: I’ve been teaching ‘other stuff’ on and off for 20 years. Started in music technology, later English and design. I’ve been meditating for a similar time, and learnt most of what I know via Goenka courses. Recently I’ve been exploring new techniques and territories via MCTB and the online teachings of Ingram, Shinzen Young and others. (So much great stuff out there now!) 

In terms of ‘insight stage’ - I’ve been through many A&P events over the years, and I believe I’ve made good progress with equanimity - mainly via 7+ 10-day Vipassana retreats, plus a few short ones and some serving. Been through all kinds of psychedelic and dukkha nana stuff. Don’t believe I’ve made it to stream entry, as yet.

Recent progress in meditation has inspired me to give back and help others (I know, classic A&P symptom, but please bear with me). I’ve taught a *little* bit of meditation during a Design course I was leading. Took students through a simple 5 minute mindfulness session. This was very well received.