First jhana?

oldmonk, modified 4 Years ago at 3/4/20 11:06 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 3/4/20 11:06 AM

First jhana?

This is my first post here, apologies if I'm posting this in the wrong place.

I've been meditating regularly for around 3 months now. I currently do two 40 minute sits a day, which I've worked up to since I started. I started out with Anapanasati, but switched over to Mahasi style noting since the last month or so, and I've found it to be quite effective. Over the last week or so, sometimes during my sits I feel a "head rush" going up from my spine into my head, followed by a few seconds (upto 10) of some kind of energy from head to toe. The feeling slowly dissipates, and I just continue to note until the end of the session.

I have several questions on this, would greatly appreciate if someone could clarify. Is this the "first jhana"? If not, then what exactly is this? I feel like the right approach is to treat this like any other sensation (i.e. not to give it any undue importance), note it, and move on.

Thank you
Ben Sulsky, modified 4 Years ago at 3/4/20 2:03 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 3/4/20 2:03 PM

RE: First jhana?

My understanding of the Mahasi/Daniel framework is that it's advised to get into access concentration and then the first jhana, and then turn towards noting practice.  

You're probably a big favorite to have gotten into the first jhana on that dose of practice, but it might not be clear analytically yet.  

Imo try the MCTB2 conceptual framework and see if it's helpful at putting words or concepts to some stuff you've done, see

https://www.mctb.org/mctb2/table-of-contents/part-i-the-fundamentals/3-concentration-the-second-training/

https://www.mctb.org/mctb2/table-of-contents/part-i-the-fundamentals/4-wisdom-the-third-training/

https://www.mctb.org/mctb2/table-of-contents/part-i-the-fundamentals/5-the-three-characteristics/