Persisting Dark Night

thumbnail
Buddhamma, modified 4 Years ago at 3/4/20 11:29 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 3/4/20 11:29 AM

Persisting Dark Night

Hey all,

About three years ago I had an experience of pure fear and unsurpassed brilliant terror for a couple months straight. No pause, no rest, every mindful second was pure torture. I think a big cause for this was not being able to progress on the path. Ever since I left school as a 18yr old (30yr old now) I've been convinced that Buddhism was my goal and salvation in life. That's why I've amassed an enormous amount of books in the hopes of progressing on the Buddhist path. I guess realizing that 12 years later I find myself not any wiser or happier made me sink into deep dispair.

I'm new to MCTB2 and I am sick of reading through heaps of books from different teachers (I have a small library by now) only to find out I am more confused about what to do than before. So I decided to just stick to MCTB2 and read it till the end to finally make some sense of things (if possible at all). As a daily user of antidepressants and anti-psychotic medication I'm fairly scared of doing any meditation work at all. 

Anyway, I'm afraid of slipping into the dark night again with strong feelings of "Everything is pointless in the end" or not being able to enjoy anything at all.. 

Is there anyone that has gone through something similar or has any advice, it would be appreciated very much.

ps. English not my native language so the sentences might be weird. Sorry!
thumbnail
J W, modified 4 Years ago at 3/4/20 1:59 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 3/4/20 1:54 PM

RE: Persisting Dark Night

Hey Kvn,
Sorry to hear that you have been feeling overwhelmed like this. I can certainly understand how it can seem like you are not making progress and how that could lead to despair.