Is this sufficient for developing the first 4 Jhanas?

thumbnail
Right Effort, modified 4 Years ago at 3/7/20 11:16 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 3/7/20 11:16 PM

Is this sufficient for developing the first 4 Jhanas?

Hello Dhamma Family

I have been meditating for about 11 years. about 8 retreats by Goenka This year I am about to do a 20 day. 

I love some feedback on my practice from other experienced meditators who have reached the stages of 4 jhanas and developed in insight. 

Thanks to MTCB i have been exposed to the teaching of Ayya Khema and she has been really inspiring me to go for the jhanas and believe it is within reach. 

I love any support or feedback to make sure I am on the right track. 

I am now doing 90 minutes at 4:30 am which includes 40 minutes of ananapan and 45minutes of vipassana + 5 min metta.

Plus a sit mid-day (30-60min vipassna) and at night (1 hr vipassana)  

I want to increase it by doing 3 hours first thing in the morning focusing on anapana for the first 2 hours and 1 hour of insight. 

Followed by 2 other sits mid day and night Vipassana. 

Retreat plan: 

Then this year I am planning to, do a 10-day end of march, and first 20 day September (7 days of anapana) 

I also do 1 full day sit each month and attend weekly group sits. 

I also am practicing brahmacharya sexual celibacy for this year to help with concentration. 

I eat vegetarian and today is 32nd day of quitting coffee - 

Question: Do you think my plan is sufficient to reach the first 3-4 jhanas in the next 6 months or year or two or three? 

Any feedback, thoughts, suggestions is appreciated emoticon  

Thanks alot
thumbnail
Jim Smith, modified 4 Years ago at 3/8/20 4:22 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 3/8/20 12:02 AM

RE: Is this sufficient for developing the first 4 Jhanas?

Hi Pouya,

I think if you can get to the first (soft) jhana you are practicing enough to get to the next three.