Access concentration / 1st Jhana / 2nd Jhana - Where am I?

Mat S, modified 14 Years ago at 10/23/09 12:20 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 10/23/09 12:20 PM

Access concentration / 1st Jhana / 2nd Jhana - Where am I?

Hi Everyone,

I've been meditating in a committed way for about 6+ years now and in the past couple of years have been concentrating on Jhana practice.
I've been watching my breath with a wide focus (as opposed to focusing more narrowly at the nostrils) but using the noting technique. I'm very comfortable to sit for up to 3 hrs (sometimes needing to continue meditation in standing posture to alleviate knee pain).

It would be great if anyone would be happy to comment on my experiences so far.

[indent]Scenario 1 - Access concentration or 1st Jhana?
I guess what I'm not clear about are the tingling sensations which build into fairly intense waves of happiness (is this rapture/piti?). When this is happening I can get a big smile on my face. There is lots of joy and pleasure in these feelings. I'm wondering whether this is 1st Jhana or access concentration? I feel I'm able to stay with this for a sitting but some thoughts do arise still but aren't usually disturbing.

Scenario 2 - 2nd Jhana?
On one occasion on a 2 week retreat I seemed to reach another level where everything was very quiet and still and deep, the intense waves of happiness were gone but a very deep feeling of contentment and fullness was present. I stayed in this for about an hour I would guess. I'm wondering if this was 2nd Jhana? I was able to clearly perceive this changed state and there was definitely some consideration of what this might be - but if those were thoughts they were very ephemeral and weren't able to intrude.[/indent]

After a while I spontaneously came out of this and started insight practice and was really blown away how sharp and clear my mind was. Unfortunately this didn't continue for too long but I really saw the benefits of concentration for insight.