Nick Lande's Practice Log

thumbnail
Nick Lande, modified 4 Years ago at 3/28/20 1:52 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 3/28/20 12:57 PM

Nick Lande's Practice Log

Hello guys! 

I'm a 23 yo foreign student at a Beijing univeristy from Stavropol, Russia.  I remember getting an account here a while ago, but apparently I haven't been too active of a member xD I've been experimenting with a number of meditation techniques during the last 2 years, mostly focusing on anapanasati, Goenka's body scan and the kasinas.  I've never made it even to the 1st jhana, but I did get into a state when my body collapsed into a bunch of vibrating particles rushing throughout my body at a high speed when I was on a Goenka's retreat. Apart from that, there were a couple times when I got a euphoric feeling that started in my chest and then spread further covering a bigger area of my body, but both times I was so struck by the sudden change in my sensations that I opened my eyes and the feeling faded after a few minutes. 
These days I'm sitting home and have plenty of time to spend on whatever I want due to the qurantine in chinese universities and hence my inability to return to China in the nearest future. So I've decided to incorporate metta and fire kasina into my daily practice. I know that both belong to the samadhi type and can help in acquiring concentration needed in the later stages of the insight practices. The thing is, It seems to me that I might freak out if I do "dry insight" because that's exactly what happened when my body shattered into pieces during the retreat xD I've done metta as well as fire and color disc kasinas before but never brought it to a serious level.
Alright, metta and kasina then. It's been 6 days or so since I started. Today I've decided that I'll be keeping a diary here.

May everyone attain innumerable fruits of the Practice
thumbnail
Nick Lande, modified 3 Years ago at 3/29/20 1:22 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 3/29/20 1:21 PM

RE: Nick Lande's Practice Log