Starting Meditation - Beginner Q's

Nad A, modified 12 Years ago at 7/1/11 1:19 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 7/1/11 1:19 AM

Starting Meditation - Beginner Q's

Background: I'm totally new to meditation, trying to start for the purpose of making 'actualism' practice easier, via increased mental clarity and having some interesting experiences like 'bliss'.

So far the brief periods I've tried have been very frustrating and seemingly useless experiences. It's as if I have 100 thoughts a second, constantly distracted... and at times I can't tell whether I am or have been concentrating on the target object... or whether I've just been imagining that I've been concentrating on it.

I'm closest to being able concentrate on my breathing but what is there to concentrate on in-between breaths? The gap in-between each breath is like a license to brainstorm.
thumbnail
Bruno Loff, modified 12 Years ago at 7/1/11 2:23 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 7/1/11 2:23 AM

RE: Starting Meditation - Beginner Q's

A tip which I've seen Daniel give, though I've never been able to put it to good use, is: in the gap between the in and out breath, focus on the sensations associated with sitting (ass-in-the-chair/chushion/whatever). So "in in in in sitting sitting out out out out sitting sitting".
thumbnail
Ian And, modified 12 Years ago at 7/1/11 2:37 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 7/1/11 2:37 AM

Nad A.:
Background: I'm totally new to meditation, trying to start for the purpose of making 'actualism' practice easier, via increased mental clarity and having some interesting experiences like 'bliss'.

Not sure your choice of practice is all that practical, but be that as it may...

Nad A.: