When you can't feel the breath

thumbnail
Modus Ponens, modified 12 Years ago at 7/9/11 3:41 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 7/9/11 3:41 PM

When you can't feel the breath

Hello all.

I'm new here. I'm a university student from Portugal and I'm 28.

I practice anapanasati, feeling the air passing through the nostrils. The problem is that my breath slows to the point where I can't feel it in my nostrils. What I've done is to focus on just whatever feelings I sense in the interior of the nose. Is this the way to go or is there another solution? The other question is that I get a bit anxious of not having enough oxigen with such a slow breathing, so from time to time I breathe in a long breath. The way I turn this into a positive thing is to relax the entire body as I exhale. Is this advisable?

Metta
thumbnail
Ian And, modified 12 Years ago at 7/10/11 12:58 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 7/10/11 12:58 AM

RE: When you can't feel the breath (Answer)

Modus Ponens:

I practice anapanasati, feeling the air passing through the nostrils. The problem is that my breath slows to the point where I can't feel it in my nostrils. What I've done is to focus on just whatever feelings I sense in the interior of the nose. Is this the way to go or is there another solution?

Hello Modus,

Welcome to the DhO.

At the point when the breath slows down to a shallow, are you aware of any sensations occurring? Is there a pleasantness and calm that becomes inviting, in other words? If so, encouraging that pleasantness and calm will take you deeper into absorption.

People who use the breath as a meditation object should not become upset when the breath begins to disappear. Simply switch your attention to any pleasant sensation that arises and follow that lead. It will take you into a deepening of concentration. And from there, you will be able to practice insight.