Shari's newbie log

Shari Tresky, modified 3 Years ago at 4/24/20 8:18 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 4/24/20 8:18 PM

Shari's newbie log

Greetings everyone,

I feel a bit like a nerdy, introverted 2nd grader starting in a new school in the middle of the term, just learning the language here, and hoping to not make a fool of myself. 

I've been a meditation dilettante for years, practicing off and on for the last 25 years or so, sat with Roshi Robert Aitken for a few years, went to some mindfulness classes and short Vipassana retreats, read some books, and currrently use mindfulness based therapies in my work with counseling clients (I'm a counselor by trade)...

In 2018 my partner of 15 years passed away, and that expereince threw me into a spiritual crisis that I've been in and out of for the last 2 years. During that time I discovered MCTB2, thanks to my friend Tim Farrington. Wow. This book spoke to me like nothing ever had before. But, true to my dilettante nature, I got distracted by "pain avoidance" activities, and am just now coming to a place where I feel I might be able to settle into a rythym.

My goal, for now, is to start from the beginning again with MCTB2, read a little bit everyday, and practice each morning. Main objective is consistency first, practice, practice, practice, no excuses!

So, any advice on what type of practice to begin with, or any other input or encouragement for a newbie would be greatly appreciated. I started today with simple noting. 

Love and gratitude for this community here,
shari
Tim Farrington, modified 3 Years ago at 4/24/20 8:57 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 4/24/20 8:53 PM

RE: Shari's newbie log

Shari Tresky:
Greetings everyone,

I feel a bit like a nerdy, introverted 2nd grader starting in a new school in the middle of the term, just learning the language here, and hoping to not make a fool of myself.