Questions on Goenka-style body scanning vs. noting

thumbnail
Dylan , modified 12 Years ago at 7/28/11 7:39 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 7/28/11 7:39 AM

Questions on Goenka-style body scanning vs. noting

Hi all. I'm relatively new to the forum. I'm pre-path, and working towards SE.

I have some questions for experienced yogis about the Goenka style body scanning method. All my meditation from 2005 up to now has been in the Goenka tradition. Since I got onto MCTB and the DhO a while ago I've been building up my noting skills. However, I am wondering if there is anything of value to be gained from persisting with the body scanning method. Is it simply an inferior practice when compared to noting? Or, when practiced skilfully, is it possible that it is an equally effective insight tool?

So I'm wondering, are there any post-path yogis out there who used body scanning as the principle technique to achieve stream entry?

Are there any post-path yogis who employ/employed body scanning as a core component of their practice post-path?

Is there anyone out there who thinks that body scanning is a useful tool for a pre-pather working towards stream-entry?

If so, is anyone able to elucidate some of the finer points of body scanning practice from their own experience – for example, instructions that might diverge from or expand upon the standard 10-day Goenka instructions; or provide any tips, pointers, or suggestions that you feel you might have benefited from in pre-path body scanning practice.

Is anyone able to give suggestions as to how body scanning could be taken to the next level, as it were, and practised with a high degree of skill and precision?

Or is it simply the case that body scanning is just lame and cumbersome, and noting is the way to go? ;) Is it best if I just let go of this antiquated method, and focus on noting? ;)