Neck, back and shoulder tension after a 3 month retreat

Jasper von Richthofen, modified 3 Years ago at 6/3/20 2:33 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 6/3/20 2:33 PM

Neck, back and shoulder tension after a 3 month retreat

Hello all,

I've been meditating consistently for about five years now but since last year I've been encountering the same persistent problem in all of my sits and also during daily life. The problem is a pronounced tension in my neck, shoulders and reaching further down my spinal cord. Whenever I sit, all I feel is this tension. Sort of as if somehow put a very heavy blanket on my back. Or as if there's a frozen hard 'plaque' that weighs down on my spinal cord and neck. Sometimes it even gives me a light headache. 

It also really hinders any concentration practice I do as the more concentrated I become, the more noticeable the tension is. Noting practice is still possible because I'll note the tension and my reactions to it. 

This started one year ago while I was doing a 3-month retreat in Asia. About halfway through the retreat I started becoming aware of tension in my neck. This then developed into a more nuanced sensation that spread over my shoulders and down my spinal cord. The interesting thing is that after meditating for three months I could actually feel the tension coming apart and slowly lowering down my back.

I've read more about it and it seems like there's some sort of emotions behind this tension. I reminded me a lot of the 'character armor' Wilhelm Reich talks about. I'm also doing focusing (by Gendlin) but have difficulty to get a feeling to come up. It all just feels very frozen. I also notice a decrease in emotions overall and a decreased sex-drive.