Mental Disorders

cody nicholas scafidi, modified 12 Years ago at 8/4/11 3:09 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 8/4/11 3:09 PM

Mental Disorders

I've been diagnosed with Bipolar Type 1, ADHD, Aspergers, Extreme Anxiety Disorder, and an Over Active Adrenal Gland. And I need to know how these disorders are going to effect my meditation progress. I've been practicing anapana and Zen meditation for 8 months, doing up to five hours a day. And I feel like I can't get past this certain point. My brother (who I'm currently living with and under observation with the practice) tries to explain to me that what I'm going through. is what some people call the dark side of the soul. But I've been dealing with roller coaster mood swings all my life, and as I get older the depression is getting worse. During my sits I struggle with a racing mind. And when I sit by myself I deal with a lot of anxiety and stress because of my fear of being alone. My brother is constantly pushing me and trying to tell me that the longer I dicipline myself with this practice, the more control I will gain over my mood swings and depressions. I don't know exactly how to overcome the challenges that I deal with in my life and I want this practice to work. I also know by holding onto that desire its holding me back. But I've never really experienced true peace in my life and I need that desperately. I need these mood swings, this paranoia, and anxiety to stop controlling me and for me to control them. I prefer feedback from people who have or had dealt with these problems themselves, or have known somebody who has overcome these problems through meditation. But any feedback from anybody would help right now. Thank you.
thumbnail
Tommy M, modified 12 Years ago at 8/4/11 4:09 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 8/4/11 4:09 PM

RE: Mental Disorders