Beginner Seeking Advice

John Coetze, modified 12 Years ago at 8/8/11 1:10 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 8/7/11 8:41 PM

Beginner Seeking Advice

Hi all,

I am a beginner with no attainments and no formal practice experience.

My aim is to learn Vipassana and take it all the way from Stream Entry through to 4th Path.

I think I understand the basic theory of paying equanimous attention to the three characteristics of whatever sensations arise moment to moment, but I'd like some advice on finding the right attitude of mind or philosophical paradigm.

I'm considering two alternatives:

1) If I treat every sensation as an appearance in awareness, with awareness being like a pure background against which all types of phenomena can arise and subside, my practice tends to feel smooth, pleasant, peaceful and satisfying, despite any unpleasant sensations. It's quite easy to maintain attention, and it feels beneficial to body and mind.

2) If I observe the three characteristics of whatever comes along, without any notion of a pure, calm, clear, undisturbed background of awareness, the practice feels quite unsettling, buzzy, confusing, quite frustrating and somehow unwieldy because it feels like I can't find the right vantage point.

Could someone point me in the right direction? I'd prefer the first way, but only if it's skillful. I know vipassana is not necessarily supposed to be pleasant, and I'm wondering if the "no pain no gain" adage applies here.

Thanks,
John
thumbnail
Beoman Claudiu Dragon Emu Fire Golem, modified 12 Years ago at 8/8/11 10:53 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 8/8/11 10:14 AM

RE: Beginner Seeking Advice

John Coetze:
I know vipassana is not necessarily supposed to be pleasant, and I'm wondering if the "no pain no gain" adage applies here.