20 day solo retreat coming up, not sure what to do, but goal is SE

Nathan Sutherland, modified 3 Years ago at 7/2/20 3:38 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 7/2/20 3:37 PM

20 day solo retreat coming up, not sure what to do, but goal is SE

First time poster, long time lurker.

I have booked my first retreat. It will be solo in a cabin for 20 days coming up in August. Currently I'm meditating using TMI and I sit roughly around stages 5-6. I have been meditating TMI for over 3 years now consistently 1+ hour daily and I find it to be an absolute grind. There is some progress, but it's so painfully slow. I feel I'm ready to give up on concentration practices altogether. It seems some people have a rather low affinity for concentration, and that seems to be me.

At this point I am considering switching practices to just noting, Mahasi style. 

I'm not sure exactly the best way to utilize these 20 days though, and I've heard a few different ways to do noting, and not sure which one would be the most effective at moving me through the POI. I've heard anchoring to the breath at abdomen and noting rising/falling and then noting distractions. I've also heard of doing it where you note wherever your attention has landed, I guess in more of a choice less attention style.

I feel like I've busted my hump just to gain the stability of attention I currently have and don't want to lose it, will switching to noting cause me to lose concentration in this way or will it continue to develop it?

ill also take any other advice, at this point I feel I'm lost in analysis paralysis, torn between continuing concentration (TMI) or just giving it up all together and just moving to noting. After about 1300 hours of TMI I feel like I'm ready to throw in the towel. 
thumbnail
Papa Che Dusko, modified 3 Years ago at 7/2/20 6:05 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 7/2/20 6:05 PM

RE: 20 day solo retreat coming up, not sure what to do, but goal is SE

Welcome to DhO!