Semi-sleep/semi-aware state in practice

thumbnail
Nick S, modified 3 Years ago at 7/4/20 4:14 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 7/4/20 3:57 PM

Semi-sleep/semi-aware state in practice

Hello everyone, 

I wanted to discuss my problem this half asleep/half aware state that I get into whenever I practice jhana stuff (and sometimes insight practice, whenever concentration really increases).

Background

I have been practicing for 5 years or so and have attained stream-entry (self-diagonsed, using the criteria of having finished one cycle of insight).

Problem

I notice how I am able to get the the j4 quite easily. But as j4 increases in strength I tend to drift off into this semi-aware state where thoughts and sounds are present but there is really no "I" that controls attention. I have no ability to control anything in that state. Its like those states where you are half-aware and half asleep at the same time.

After I snap out of it focusing on a single object becomes very difficult. As far a visual sensations it is just blank. And physical sensations there is nothing. But I am able to hear things.

I am able to notice this happening and have tred to stop it by trying to stay focussed on that object solely and not letting concentration drift off. But I notice that I start falling back in my ability to concentrate. This happens basically anytime I try to do any jhana stuff.

I assume that it is from tiredness but have no idea how to stop it from happening because I can have a normal day without any hectic stuff happening yet I still fall into this trance.

Does someone have any idea on how to prevent this and or know what/why ithis is happening I would really appreicate if you could tell me. This thing really preventing me from accessing the formless jhanas.

Sincerely,

Nick
thumbnail
Jim Smith, modified 3 Years ago at 7/4/20 5:33 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 7/4/20 5:17 PM

RE: Semi-sleep/semi-aware state in practice

Maybe you have insomnia?