Introducing myself and seeking guidance

Tony, modified 3 Years ago at 7/16/20 1:31 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 7/16/20 1:10 PM

Introducing myself and seeking guidance

Hi all, this is my first post.

I'm going to try and describe where I feel I'm at and what I'd like help with, with as little rambling as possible.

I've been practicing daily for about five years. The teachers I've found myself watching/reading the most are: Rupert Spira, Adyashanti, Eckhart Tolle, and several others. As of now I have very little knowledge of the Buddhist traditions regularly discussed here.

Early on in my practice I had what I'd describe as an experience of 'awakening'. If I had to put it into words I'd say it was a deep sense of effortless freedom and happiness. A recognition that happiness would never be found where I'd traditionally been looking for it (relationships, work, etc.)

I feel my practice is headed in the right direction because of progressive positive changes I've seen in my life, less anger, less need to escape my pain by eating junk food, small but good stuff like that. Practice feels like a way of undoing the mechanisms within me which keep me from experiencing the aforementioned effortless peace.

Things have become feeling stagnant however which is why I'm seeking some outside perspective.

A large part of my practice up until now has been deconstructing the sense of a separate self, the "doer". I want to continue this work, but my usual way of approaching it isn't yielding great results.

The primary ways of doing this deconstruction that I've learnt is pondering questions like Who am I? Where/when am I? Who is meditating? etc. as well as "paying attention to the sense of the I am".

When I try to do these inquiries these days it just feels like an effort to receive pleasure. It feels like an effort by my ego to 'win'. This is what happens for me with nearly all spiritual exercises right now.