Matthew R Judd, modified 3 Years ago at 7/20/20 3:00 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 7/20/20 3:00 PM

Hello, 

I am new to this site. A quick introduction: I've been practicing Theravada Buddhism since 2015, and during 2019 an old acquaintance of mine reached out to me on Facebook and we discovered that we both had coincidentally found Dhamma in our young adulthood. He introduced me to the concept of Daniel Ingram, the self-proclaimed Arahant. I first listened to him speak in a podcast called Ten Percent Happier. 

I'm mostly here, I guess, to see if there is a way to reach out to him. Perhaps he'll see this? 

Claiming Arahantship is quite controversial, as he obviously already knows. I feel as though I want him to know that his podcast and his open transparency has been so beneficial to me and my practice. I imagine that he doesn't need to hear this and I know that I don't truly need him to know, but I do hope that this reaches him because I feel an immense sense of gratitude for his courage and articulation. 

Also, my personal Sangha has a member, a man who I consider one of my main teachers and definitely a Kalyana-mittata, who apparently knows Daniel Ingram personally. I was told that they were friends during their youth. Small world, I suppose. 

Anyway, I'll likely be lurking around on here to see what's up. I highly value transparency and although I can understand the motives behind keeping arahantship a private knowledge (to prevent invoking envy, for example), I'm interested to see what kind of candid discussion are occuring on this forum. 

With Metta,
Matt
thumbnail
Ni Nurta, modified 3 Years ago at 7/21/20 6:19 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 7/21/20 6:19 AM

RE: New Member

Hello Matthew