relbatnrut's practice log

relbatnrut, modified 3 Years ago at 8/3/20 9:48 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 8/3/20 9:48 PM

relbatnrut's practice log

My primary hope for this log is that more experienced meditators might be kind enough to offer me some feedback. 

I've been practicing with more commitment for about 2 years now (~6 years of on and off practice). Started off with TMI, went on a Goenka retreat in December 2018, and have since dabbled in that style of body scanning, "just sitting," metta, jhana practice, and noting. Regardless of the particular practice, my sits have generally started with ~10-20 minutes of samatha style practice and then the remainder of the hour in vipassana style practice. Currently I've been starting off with metta, playing around with entering (very light) jhana if my mind feels inclined, and then noting for the rest of the time. I also do walking meditation in the afternoon, noting for however long my walk around the city takes (usually an hour and a half or so).

I like the idea of the maps and I'm familiar with MCTB(II), but really have no idea where I am on them. I've had a number of pretty powerful psychedelic experiences (including one quite traumatic one 4 years ago) and one lightning bolt of energy style experience on retreat in June 2019 (at the time I thought it might have been stream entry; this seems pretty unlikely now). Everything after that has been more or less muddling through, so maybe the dark night. Until that retreat experience I was a little neurotic about the stages, but these days I don't give as much thought to mapping (because it seems like a futile endeavor).

On to the log. Happy to expand on any of the above if helpful. Please also do let me know if these logs are less than ideally formatted for constructive feedback emoticon 

8/3/19
Walking meditation, evening
- Drifting into thought often
- Noting frustration, pain, anxiety, fear, tension quite a bit