Koan-like philosophical question triggered something?

Erui Konig, modified 12 Years ago at 8/15/11 5:09 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 8/15/11 4:52 PM

Koan-like philosophical question triggered something?

I've been sitting for 2 years. I try to study on my own and diligently practice, even though I've received no formal instructions since I haven't found any good teacher in my country. I plan to find one in the future.

I do two things: either I count breaths or I just sit. I follow instructions I read from countless sources mostly Soto Zen.

In these two years, I've only had 2 very intense experiences. One was a few months after meditating every day. A profound blissful state.

The other was almost 2 years later - that is, one month ago. I was reading actually reading European philosophers (Heidegger and Hegel), and I became obsessed about a question. The question was: "What is being?" - "Is it possible that being is just a negation of negation?" - This is not far from what could be a Buddhist question: is it possible that something can 'exist' without having self-nature, or substance, or selfhood? Is it possible that something can exist only in relation to other things, and these other things only in relation to other things, and so on and so forth, and that substance, being, things (or the thingness of things) is just pure appearance, while it's really all empty? It was driving me crazy and I stayed awake for 2 days consecutively ruminating on these questions. I was possessed. Then I thought I need something to calm me and I decided to go sit.