Shinzen Young's Gap Between the Enlightened

V B, modified 3 Years ago at 8/22/20 10:11 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 8/22/20 10:11 AM

Shinzen Young's Gap Between the Enlightened

Hello all,

First post here and thanks for being such a special and interesting community. I'm a relatively novice in the meditaiton circles, but I was listening to a podcast with Shinzen Young on BATGAP where he said that the gap between 'not enlightened' and 'enlightened' is much smaller than the gap between various 'enlightened' persons. I remember hearing this years ago and it just struck me as powerful in some way. 

Does anyone else have a similar reaction, and what do you make of this? Is there some never-ending exploration of the mind? Some unfathomable vastness? I'm quite new to these circles and so I was just curious what people thought? I really like Shinzen Young's story of a master suggesting that today's enlightenment is tomorrow's mistake. Thank you all. 
A Dietrich Ringle, modified 3 Years ago at 8/22/20 11:55 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 8/22/20 11:30 AM

RE: Shinzen Young's Gap Between the Enlightened

I agree.
A Dietrich Ringle, modified 3 Years ago at 8/22/20 4:31 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 8/22/20 4:31 PM

V B:
Hello all,

First post here and thanks for being such a special and interesting community. I'm a relatively novice in the meditaiton circles, but I was listening to a podcast with Shinzen Young on BATGAP where he said that the gap between 'not enlightened' and 'enlightened' is much smaller than the gap between various 'enlightened' persons. I remember hearing this years ago and it just struck me as powerful in some way.