Breadth vs Depth

Sean ', modified 3 Years ago at 9/11/20 8:38 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 9/11/20 8:30 PM

Breadth vs Depth

Hello everyone. Just as a quick introduction, I'm Sean and I've been meditating on and off for 5 years, but have only gotten interested in the Progress of Insight just in the past several months. In the past I have done a lot of choiceless awareness and self-inquiry style practices. Noting practice is relatively new to me.

My question is about what seems to me like a contradiction between two practice goals: 1) to penetrate the objects of awareness, breaking them down into smaller components and seeing their impermanence and 2) seeing everything that arises within consciousness clearly at every moment. The first goal seems to require that an object is held at the center of attention for an extended period of time and investigated, while the second goal for me seems to be better facilitated not by directing attention, but just by noticing whatever happens to naturally grab attention at any moment.

At the moment, a typical session for me involves me first getting centered with some shamatha and then "sitting back" and allowing any objects to grab attention naturally and I note the objects, usually 1-3 times per second. I feel like I am getting some sense of how the mind moves and creates impressions and intentions, but am I missing something important by not forcing myself to stick with a single object?

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!
thumbnail
Jim Smith, modified 3 Years ago at 9/11/20 9:56 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 9/11/20 9:13 PM

RE: Breadth vs Depth