Vibrations and Hertz

Kelly Gordon Weeks, modified 3 Years ago at 9/13/20 1:59 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 9/13/20 1:59 PM

Vibrations and Hertz

Daniel talks about the occurrence of vibrations as hertz. For example, 4 hertz would mean that 4 vibrations are occurring per second. He mentions counting vibrations through the path of insight and how certain nanas have specific vibrations. How can one count vibrations? Are vibrations categorized as anything occurring in the sense doors?

I am a musician and audio engineer, so frequency identification has value to me. The way I have come to understand frequency is that instruments/sounds occupy a part of the spectrum. Bass instruments occupy the lower end of, and bright sounds occupy the higher end. This is different from counting occurrences. 

Please advise.
Z , modified 3 Years ago at 9/14/20 12:15 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 9/13/20 2:46 PM

RE: Vibrations and Hertz

My impression of that part of MCTB was that the frequency stuff was something that Daniel was particularly interested in and excited to share with others, but that being obsessed with the specific hertz of different frequencies on a granular level is really more of a meditative side-project that isn't totally necessary to move forward along the path. However, if it works for you and seems to help your practice, then by all means go for it. 

Like Daniel writes, I've noticed in my own practice that different stages of insight have different vibratory textures and qualities that are definitely worth paying attention to. I've never gone so far as to actually count vibrations per second, and feel like for most people doing so could start to tilt one's practice into territory that might be a little neurotic and to the detriment of one's practice.

Are vibrations categorized as anything occurring in the sense doors?

Any seemingly solid sensate experience coming in through a sense door can be vipassanized into a more base vibratory experience.