Sensations spilling into everyday life

Kim Slater, modified 3 Years ago at 9/23/20 3:09 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 9/23/20 3:09 AM

Sensations spilling into everyday life

Hello everyone - new here and first post. I've come to the forum with a specific question and I hope you can give me some advice. I hope I'm posting in the right category (Concentration).

Brief history - I've been meditating on-and-off (mostly off) for 15-20 years and first became aware of MCTB 6/7 years ago. Re-reading now and getting much more from it. Anyway, I joined a Samatha course earlier this year and this has given some structure and direction to my practice. In the last few weeks, I've been concentrating on the breath at one point in my nostril and tingling sensations started to arise around my head. They've since grown much stronger and, though still located around my face and head, are also spreading. They've been joined by a deeper vibration/buzz in my chest and arms that I can feel when breathing.

My understanding was that I should let these sensations arise and, when they become stable, maybe focus concentration on them and this might lead to access concentration at some point.

Only trouble is that the sensations have started to spill over into non-sitting time. I've been waking up in the morning with the strong, deeper vibration. The head-tingling can arise at almost any point (it's going on now as I type this). Though these sensations are not unpleasant, it's becoming a bit draining!

This is very new to me and quite unexpected, so I am wondering if people can tell me what is going on and what I should do about it? Currently sitting 1.5-2hrs per day.

Many thanks
Daniel Slaney, modified 3 Years ago at 9/23/20 3:37 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 9/23/20 3:37 AM

RE: Sensations spilling into everyday life