Am I Hindering My Practice?

thumbnail
Jon Messner, modified 3 Years ago at 9/28/20 3:51 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 9/28/20 2:58 PM

Am I Hindering My Practice?

I'm a salesman/business owner and I interact with the same clients constantly. I've grown fond of them, and (I think!) they get a value from my product. Furthermore, I enjoy building the business (humans like to build things?) My questions is this; am I hindering my practice because of my attachment to my work and my clients? All insight is appreciated! THANK YOU!! emoticon
thumbnail
terry, modified 3 Years ago at 9/28/20 5:10 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 9/28/20 5:10 PM

RE: Am I Hindering My Practice?

Jon Messner:
I'm a salesman/business owner and I interact with the same clients constantly. I've grown fond of them, and (I think!) they get a value from my product. Furthermore, I enjoy building the business (humans like to build things?) My questions is this; am I hindering my practice because of my attachment to my work and my clients? All insight is appreciated! THANK YOU!! emoticon

aloha jon,

Right livelihood is key in following the buddhist path. if you can build your business honestly and market your product fairly, you enhance your practice.

If you are attached to your success to the point that you cut corners, lie and cheat, then it could be a hindrance.

terry
thumbnail
Jon Messner, modified 3 Years ago at 9/30/20 5:44 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 9/30/20 5:44 AM

terry:
Jon Messner:

aloha jon,

Right livelihood is key in following the buddhist path. if you can build your business honestly and market your product fairly, you enhance your practice.

If you are attached to your success to the point that you cut corners, lie and cheat, then it could be a hindrance.

terry

Terry,