Getting people interested?

Giulio B, modified 12 Years ago at 8/24/11 10:11 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 8/24/11 10:04 AM

Getting people interested?

Hi, i'm in some places where there are people full of problems (like physical handicap, depression etc.) and i was thinking to let them know that at least a possibility of a spiritual quest exists. I'm no expert in this field but more or less i've got 3 hits:

- vipassana
- metta/four immeasurables/self-decentering practices
- advaita/actualism
- others...?

The biggest problem is to present this stuff in a way that can be interesting, intruguing, cool. Also brief and a bit organized.

What do you think, for great suffering beings, should i begin to tell about noting, vibrations and the maps? They're fairly interesting. I must say i have no subjective experience on these things, i'm really at the beginning.

I cannot link MCBT because a brief but nice, even better funny introduction would be needed.

Metta and the stuff would also be an idea, because it treats suffering immediately, but it isn't much interesting though.

Suggestions accepted! It's not urgent.
thumbnail
Beoman Claudiu Dragon Emu Fire Golem, modified 12 Years ago at 8/25/11 9:03 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 8/25/11 9:03 AM

RE: Getting people interested?

What do you think, for great suffering beings, should i begin to tell about noting, vibrations and the maps? They're fairly interesting. I must say i have no subjective experience on these things, i'm really at the beginning.

Hmm, I don't know if I'd recommend them to do MCTB-style vipassana. It isn't really very pleasant, except for the brief A&P, and equanimity at the end, and of course stream entry which changes a lot. But up to A&P it can be boring, and post A&P up to Equanimity it can be hellish. For people who are already suffering from depression, that might just be a terrible idea.