Long-term meditation retreats / monasteries Australia

tom, modified 3 Years ago at 11/20/20 11:16 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 11/20/20 11:16 PM

Long-term meditation retreats / monasteries Australia

Trying to find a meditation retreat centre or monastery in Australia where I can meditate pretty much full time (I don’t mind having to help cook/clean as part of the daily schedule) for an extended period of time. Does anyone know any centres and/or monasteries apart from the Vipassana centres? Having a bit of a tough time to find a place.

I also don't mind paying a reasonable amount for week to week accomodation.

I am also studying and practicing The Mind Illuminated. 

Thank you
thumbnail
Milo, modified 3 Years ago at 11/20/20 11:28 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 11/20/20 11:24 PM

RE: Long-term meditation retreats / monasteries Australia

There's the BSWA in Perth if you want to check out Thai Forest Theravada style Buddhism.
tom, modified 3 Years ago at 11/22/20 4:33 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 11/22/20 4:33 AM

Bump
Peter S, modified 3 Years ago at 11/23/20 3:05 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 11/23/20 3:05 AM

Hi Tom

Good question. There's also the Blue Mountains Insight Meditation Centre (http://bmimc.org.au/) which I think has some people stay to cook and clean. Not sure of the details. 

I'm curious why you exclude the Vipassana centres. I guess you mean the Goenka ones. Having spent a lot of time in them myself, I can see there are advantages and the opposite to those places. So I'm not a devotee of their cult. It's just that I'm curious to know your reasons if you don't mind to share. 
tom, modified 3 Years ago at 11/23/20 3:26 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 11/23/20 3:26 AM

Thank you everyone for your replies.