JazzMuzak's Practice Log

Jazz Muzak, modified 3 Years ago at 12/8/20 1:48 AM
Created 3 Years ago at 12/8/20 1:48 AM

JazzMuzak's Practice Log

Hello. I'm not sure how often I'll post here, but I thought it would be fun to keep a journal of what's going on in practice. Kind of wish I'd done it sooner. For reference, I've been practicing Buddhism in some form or fashion for about six years, when I found Ram Dass and then later MCTB. I got approximately nothing done for about four years, although I'm sure that time primed the pump in some way. I certainly think all the reading about nanas and all that rot put some things in perspective in a nice way. Explained a lot about my adolesence.

Anyway, to make a long story short, I was vaguely into meditation, got into LSD, which got me VERY interested in meditation, worked with TMI stuff and then jumped into the vipassana stuff from MCTB, got some insights, spent some time in the cycle, may or may not have finished a cycle or two depending on your standards (and my standards on the day you ask me, hyuk hyuk hyuk), and now I practice pretty regularly again after taking a break. It's been a wild couple of years and this forum has been a great help. I spend most of my dharma-socialization-time on Discord these days, but lurking on here was a great help when I needed it.

I wrote this practice report to a friend of mine, and I figured it wouldn't hurt to repost it here:

Lately I've been sitting more often, and making more effort on my moment-to-moment vipassana practice. I had an event/shift in early August that felt "final", in a way, and I laid off the practice for awhile to see what was up with that. No longer feel like that was as "final", as I thought.