Survey: Activity During Fruitions/Cessations/Path Moments

thumbnail
svmonk, modified 3 Years ago at 12/11/20 8:40 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 12/11/20 8:40 PM

Survey: Activity During Fruitions/Cessations/Path Moments

Hi,

This post is meant to start an informal survey thread for folks who have had experience/cultivate fruitions, cessations, or path moments such as occur during stream entry.

Has anyone had such experiences that have been accompanied by normal activity (walking, talking with someone, watching TV, etc.) which continues during the experience? Or has the experience occured just during meditation when sitting quietly and performing a vipassana or shamantha practice?

Thanx.
thumbnail
svmonk, modified 3 Years ago at 12/11/20 8:47 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 12/11/20 8:47 PM

RE: Survey: Activity During Fruitions/Cessations/Path Moments

Apologies for answering my own thread, but I have some experience to relate here.

I've had both. I had one case where a fruition/cessation like experience occured after I had filled up my car with gas at a gas station in LA. After I paid for the gas inside the gas station, I walked out to the car and had my hand on the door handle. The next thing I remember is sitting in the car looking down at the button to start. This was after attending a 10 day retreat. I also had a pretty deep and powerful cessation during a retreat with Shinzen Young 5 years ago during meditation. This was after about a year of practicing his "just note gone" practice. Shinzen himself also reported during one of the retreats I did with him having fruition type experiences driving down the freeways in LA.

As a side note, I don't practice Shinzen's technique anymore, I switched to Mahamudra a few years ago.

Thanx.
thumbnail
Noah D, modified 3 Years ago at 12/11/20 11:20 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 12/11/20 11:20 PM