Jade Lee Practice Log

thumbnail
Jade Lee, modified 3 Years ago at 12/20/20 6:00 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 12/20/20 6:00 PM

Jade Lee Practice Log

Hi all, emoticon

I am a 32 year old male who has been meditating for about 8 years. The immediate side effects were integuiging. I had suffered from anxiety and depression for my whole life. I didn’t realize how bad I was suffering until it came to a head and I was hospitalized at 24. For a couple of months I was on medications and felt like a zombie. It wasn’t working out for me. 

I started to meditate using the headspace app and noticed changes in my health very quickly. Not only was I feeling better but my overall being improved. I am a middle school teacher...which takes a lot of patience… I noticed that I was able to have more patience with my students and make more creative lesson plans. In situations where I would be yelling at a student, I had the ability now to take a step back and realize that's not the right move. More importantly I got my mental health under control. 

Using headspace has helped me so much, it taught me some meditation techniques and really sparked my interest…..But, I know there is more to meditation than just headspaces guided meditations. I have been trying noting meditation. It is very difficult for me. Noting aloud is WAY different than anything I have done in the past. I am struggling to decide something though. As I am noting, lets say I feel an itch on my face, do I note that and move on? Or should I note it and explore the itch? What are the sensations? Why do I have an itch? What is an itch? While I note should I try and think about nothing or my breath, and whatever comes into my head, note it?