Books

thumbnail
Oatmilk, modified 3 Years ago at 1/26/21 4:37 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 12/25/20 1:12 PM

Books

I'm interested in reading Buddhist Sutras/old texts - are there any books that provide them? I'm a total newbie and am just aware that there are two websites, like suttacentral.net and accesstoinsight.org but I'd actually prefer them in form of a book. 
I could as well need some help regarding how those old texts are structured. Ie. There's the Pali Canon, there are the Yoga Sutras, than there's the Visuddhi Magga etc. - I'm totally lost emoticon Some clarification is really appreciated, thanks!
Sam Gentile, modified 3 Years ago at 12/25/20 2:19 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 12/25/20 2:19 PM

RE: Books

Oatmilk:
I'm interested in reading Buddhist Sutras/old texts - are there any books that provide them? I'm a total newbie and am just aware that there are two websites, like suttacentral.net and accesstoinsight.org but I'd actually prefer them in form of a book. 
I could as well need some help regarding how those old texts are structured. Ie. There's the Pali Canon, there are the Yoga Sutras, than there's the Visuddhi Magga etc. - I'm totally lost emoticon Some clarification is really appreciated, thanks!

The Pali Cannon has been published in a number of books by Wisdom: The Middle Length Discources of the Buddha, The Long Discources, The Connected Discources, and the Numerical Discources. They'll take up a chunck of your bookshelf!

I believe the Visuddimaga is also considered part of the Pali Cannon. They are the original teachings of the Buddha.
The Yoga Sutras don't have anything to do with this stuff.
Martin, modified 3 Years ago at 12/25/20 10:54 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 12/25/20 10:54 PM