RE: New-ish Concentration on breath Practitioner looking for further guidan

Maisam Abbas, modified 3 Years ago at 3/3/21 7:10 PM
Created 3 Years ago at 3/3/21 7:09 PM

New-ish Concentration on breath Practitioner looking for further guidance

Hi All,

I am new here and to meditation in general, I have been practicing samatha using my breath as the object for about 2 years now and have seen great results so far. I started practicing mainly as a way to help reduce my anxiety and I can confirm that my anxiety today is 100s of times better than what it was a few years ago. I have gained pretty good insight into the nature of my thought patterns and how to dampen my anxiety and eliminate it simply by sitting and concentrating on my breath. My practice has helped me understand that I am not my thoughts, anxieties and emotions. That all phenomena come and go and that there is no need for me to suffer just because I am feeling anxiety or negative emotions in general. I think you might have noticed by now where I am going with this. I have read several books from various teachers on buddhism and meditation in general (inc. Daniel's MCTB2, which directed me to this forum), and I have become increasingly interested in furthering my practice into deeper and deeper understanding of reality.