RE: New to Fire Kasina, Checking-In

Scott Hader, modified 2 Years ago at 4/4/21 10:37 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 4/4/21 10:34 AM

New to Fire Kasina, Checking-In

Hello~ I'm new to fire kasina, so I just wanted to make sure I'm practicing okay and open up to any comments/advice.

Practice method: I'm currently practicing for about 30-minutes. I stare at the flame of a candle for about 15 seconds, and then close my eyes, at which time I usually see a bright-blue egg shape, and then a much smaller hot-pink shape with a bright-blue border. The egg shape fades to black quickly, and the other shape fades to black after a few minutes. I'm mainly just focusing on the smaller shape since it endures longer, and watching it's gradual fade to black.

Am I doing this right?
Emil Jensen, modified 2 Years ago at 4/4/21 12:29 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 4/4/21 12:29 PM

It sounds like you are, as far as I know!
Did you read Daniel's instructions/take on it? https://www.mctb.org/mctb2/table-of-contents/part-iii-the-samatha-jhanas/29-kasina-practice/

I use the LED on my phone as it gives a stronger image and I only have to look at the light on the lowest setting for 5-10 seconds.

If you keep seeing the shape for as long as it's there, over and over again, you should develop in concentration.
Then, after a while I guess you can run into some pitfalls, like straining too much both in your eyes and in your keeping of the attention.

But I would say, go ahead, do what you're doing and if that feels fine, keep going for at leat a month, to sort of develop a feel of your own.

​​​​​​​emoticon
Scott Hader, modified 2 Years ago at 4/4/21 2:24 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 4/4/21 2:24 PM

Thanks! I hadn't read the instructions, but I will start reading them now. I'll keep in mind your tips about the LED light; I heard some other people use that as well. I'll experiment. I'll keep an eye out for your potential pitfalls as well. I'll check back in in another month or so. Thanks again!
thumbnail