RE: Micro Jhana?

Kelly Gordon Weeks, modified 2 Years ago at 5/23/21 10:32 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 5/23/21 10:05 AM

Micro Jhana?

I've been working on my concentration practice for almost two years now. I'm starting to come to the conclusion (bad idea I know) that I don't experience the jhanas in the well-taught version of the 1-4 and then 5-8 being versions of 4. 

Instead of noticeable shifts between 4 jhanas, I'm noticing at least a dozen micro concentration states. Samatha nanas? Some are tight, some loose. It's difficult to put them into words but many of the different states have to do with where the object is in space and visual imagery. I have a lot of visual imagery in my sits and they tend to be on the psychedelic side. Sometimes the body disappears, sometimes it feels concrete. Sometimes I feel energy pulling in multiple directions. Density in the body changes as well, heavy, floating, etc.

It appears that there is some control over the states but it's very minimal. The different states usually last seconds to minutes and occur naturally. 

I'm finding the word piti less and less helpful in defining jhana as it is always present somewhere in my body and there doesn't appear to be a way to remove, drop, or control in any way. 

I recently read an article made by Kenneth Folk about how the nanas and samatha jhanas are connected. Perhaps this is what I'm experiencing, it's unclear. 

Thanks for reading this! I appreciate your feedback.

​​​​​​​-Kelly

thumbnail
Pepe ·, modified 2 Years ago at 5/23/21 1:28 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 5/23/21 1:27 PM

Hi Kelly, please check:

- Vipassana-Jhanas 
Vipassana Jhanas and the Progress of Insight
How the Vipassana Jhanas and the Seven Factors of Awakening can help 

Also, there are a very few who have experienced Pure Land Jhanas right after J4, though they are usually reported as post J8. 
Kelly Gordon Weeks, modified 2 Years ago at 5/23/21 9:53 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 5/23/21 9:53 PM