Dark Night on Retreat

M H, modified 2 Years ago at 7/5/21 9:21 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 7/5/21 8:25 PM

Dark Night on Retreat

• I am currently on day 14 of 18 day Mahasi noting retreat in a nondenominal buddhist retreat center. I have been practicing Mahasi noting fore 6 months for at least an hour every day before this retreat. Before that did a two month retreat on open awareness last summer. I have been practicing an hour a day for 12 years, mostly Mahyana Buddhism
  • I have a teacher on this Noting retreat and he has identified that I crossed the A&P on retreat. I believe i am now in the Dark Night and have been for the last few days because of the straight up dark weird shit, chaotic attention, despair, hinderances, etc. that is coming up. 
  • My issue: I am physically and emotionally exhausted from practicing. I don't want to stop now! I read Mastering Core Teachings and I need to keep going, but when I note, I get a throbbing pain in my forehead and behind my eyes. Also in my chest. Am I pushing too hard? Any advice on how to direct control effort in this stage of practice? Thank you in advance. 
A Dietrich Ringle, modified 2 Years ago at 7/5/21 10:02 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 7/5/21 10:02 PM

RE: Dark Night on Retreat

Samatha. Ignore the noting instructions. Noting will happen on its own. Decisions you make now count double. So make them count!
thumbnail
Zero, modified 2 Years ago at 7/6/21 12:12 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 7/6/21 12:12 AM

Maybe this post seems relevant:
https://www.dharmaoverground.org/fi/discussion/-/message_boards/message/2405128