Advice on path?

Tom R, modified 2 Years ago at 8/3/21 12:34 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 8/3/21 12:34 PM

Advice on path?

Hi all,

I'm new to DhO and thought this would be a good question to ask the community and some of the more experienced practitioners. I've been feeling a bit confused how to approach this newly presented problem. My questions are at the bottom if you'd like to skip.

A little bit of history...
I've been meditating for about 14 years on and off. I recently figured out I had taught myself to meditate and jhana back in the day when I had an interest in lucid dreaming. After slipping out of that interest and into a 3-4 year ego dark night, I rediscovered meditation to pull myself out of the particularly bad habits avoidance had led to. Only for the past 6 months have I had a very dedicated practice of 1-3+ hours daily and really discovered how to build upon the lessons and continuity of practice for the long term. I've never had a teacher since the pandemic situation has made in-person practice very difficult to find. I thought I would take advantage of this opportunity from a different perspective and see what I was capable of myself. This has led me to the following.