RE: Alternating Tai Chi (instead of walking) with Seated Meditation

Forest Darje, modified 2 Years ago at 8/4/21 4:01 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 8/4/21 4:01 AM

Alternating Tai Chi (instead of walking) with Seated Meditation

Hello, all! I am new to Dharma Overground and am about to do a 6 day personal, intensive retreat with seated meditation alternated with either walking or Tai Chi. I would like to ask for feedback on the effectiveness of Tai Chi as a substitute for walking meditation. First off, I plan to do Mahasi's noting practice while seated and alternate with a moving exercise, such as walking or Tai Chi. Though I have never done "intensive" walking meditation (I have done it in Zen meetings but with little instruction), I have done Bagua walking, standing meditation and Yang style Tai Chi, which is very slow and internal - but never in the context of a meditation retreat. My goal is to maximize progress on the meditative path in these 6 days, and need to decide what moving practice to supplement with the seated practice. I am also considering doing some standing practice as well. One obvious question, assuming I go with the Tai Chi, is whether I should do the noting practice while performing the Tai Chi form, or just do it as I normally do? Another concern is whether standing meditation could also be used as a third modality? Lastly, if walking meditation is the safest, do I simply continue with the noting practice while walking in addition to paying attention to the soles of my feet and how they interact with the ground? Thank you in advance for any feedback!
thumbnail
Pepe ·, modified 2 Years ago at 8/4/21 6:53 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 8/4/21 6:53 AM