Asking for advice - practice and responsibilities probably after A&P

pickled radish, modified 2 Years ago at 9/22/21 2:00 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 9/22/21 1:57 AM

Asking for advice - practice and responsibilities probably after A&P

Hello - really excited to be posting in this community for the first time!

I am extremely new to practice and went on a 7-day Theravada insight retreat. Just came off of it and have been feeling like on a very low dose of LSD since (only psychedelic I've tried) and not very cognitively functional. I'm in a job which involves caring for people and will starting doing very fast-paced stuff in a couple of weeks so I need to be as cognitively normal as possible - especially not keen on the idea of having to Dark Night at any point in the day while on a fast paced situation and would appreciate some advice on what to do.

- Background
Basically no regular practice, averaging maybe 30 min every 1-2 weeks for 5 years in Theravada(?) listening to the likes of Shinzen Young. Fairly young and no life traumas, "sciencey"-outlook on life, motivation to go was to learn about the mind.
Not following any particular map but I'd skimmed through the mentions of the jhanas and the A&P/DN in Daniel's MCTB so I guess that lightly stuck with me.

- The experience
It was a silent retreat and earnestly followed the instructions - I did not take breaks from practicing with anything and everything, from waking up till nighttime.
Day 1-3 seemed consistent with Mind and Body and Cause and Effect.
Day 4 I attained to be what seemed like 2nd (maybe 3rd?) shamatha jhana, with being able to express first intense visceral joy (felt in inside the chest in the outbreath) from breathing meditation which on the next days evolved into more ease than joy.