RE: Brodie's Practice Log Brodie 10/31/21 9:29 PM
RE: Brodie's Practice Log Brodie 10/31/21 9:31 PM
RE: Brodie's Practice Log Brodie 10/31/21 9:31 PM
RE: Brodie's Practice Log George S 10/31/21 10:40 PM
Brodie, modified 2 Years ago at 9/29/21 10:16 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 9/29/21 10:16 PM

Brodie's Practice Log

Hi all, 

I've been wanting to start a practice log here for some time. Today is the day.

I'll keep my history short. I've been practicing for 6 years or so. MCTB was the first book that really inspired me to take practice seriously, but I didn't understand how to put it into practice. I started practicing TMI but it never really stuck. Explored all sorts of random magick and new age stuff, along with various Buddhist teachers like Rob Burbea, Reggie Ray and Shinzen Young. I've spent most of these 6 years jumping all over the place from practice to practice. Around a year ago I really got into Shinzen's system and it felt like home, but I was efforting super hard and recently took a break from vipassana and did mostly "just sitting/shikantaza" stuff for a few months. 

Recently I'm back on the vipassana band wagon. It is the style of practice that makes the most sense, conceptually and experientially to me. I've been reading sections of MCTB2, mainly the chapter on the 7 factors of awakening, and I realize that my practice has been out of balance with regards to the factors. Having this framework in the back of my mind is really helpful.