RE: Improving visualization skill

Bruno dharma, modified 2 Years ago at 3/18/22 4:32 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 3/18/22 4:32 AM

Improving visualization skill

Hello,
I'm currently trying to improve my visualization skill through meditation (I'm an artist using meditation to create).
I'm not making a lot of progress at the moment and I would appreciate some help. 

First I must make the distinction between vision that come to me one their own when I meditate, which are more akin to revalations (no control) and visions that I volontarily craft "in my mind's eyes". The latter is what I'm working on. For example, I would sit, enter a rather thoughtless state of consciousness then create an image in my mind's eyes. I usualy picture a fork as a basic exercise (not a generic fork, but a specific one that I have in my kitchen). I would move it around, spin it. Then I would move on to images of animals that I animate. Then I would imagine myself and walk around in the house. The future goal being to imagine my art wit this method. At the moment I have only been able to create with uncontrolled visions (the first type of vision mentioned above).

I'm looking for exercises that would help me improve my visualization skill in three specific ways:
  • Stability. Images tend to shapeshift a lot or disappear. I would like to be able to maintain the images in a stable form.
  • Clarity. Images look like they are projected on a dark screen. They seem transparent. When I manage to get them crisper, it doesn't last very long. I also have a blind spot, a bright dot in the middle of my imaginary field of vision that I might have developped while doing a short fire kasina home retreat (that bright dot looks a bit like a candle flame after-image).
  • Control. I would like to be able to move things around and move my point of view in a more controlable way.