Anxious Dissociation

Jessica Brock, modified 12 Years ago at 10/26/11 10:01 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 10/26/11 10:01 PM

Anxious Dissociation

Hello all,

I recently (as in last week) heard the Buddhist Geek's podcast with Willoughby Britton in which she discussed the Dark Night. I listened to this and thought, "Holy crap. This might be me." I immediately then watched the hours of interview that Dan Ingram gave at the Cheetah House and only became further convinced that I might be in the Dark Night.

I come from the Kagyu Tibetan Buddhist tradition. I have been meditating for about three years since studying for a semester at the Institute of Buddhist Dialectics in Dharmasala, India (also where I took refuge). My practice is not formal or structured in any way really. I have never been on a guided retreat. I have taken multiple retreats on my own, but never anything formal. I mostly follow the instructions of Jetsunma Tenzin Palmo, but also read and meditate on various academic works, mostly by B. Alan Wallace. My main forms of meditation are observing the mind and Loving Kindness. I also use yoga as part of my practice. However, when I'm not meditating I try to apply the same sort of mindfulness to daily life and also stop to observe my mind at any opportunity during the day. Especially while doing things like driving. I say all this because when Daniel Ingram talked about those that reach the Dark Night through any formal practice and have no idea how they got there...well, if I'm there, that's probably how I got there.

Anyways, the reason why I'm writing this is because I have been having these moments of dissociation from myself and the world. In these moments, I am unable to recognize "me" being something separate from "my" surroundings or as being myself at all. These happen both during meditation and outside of it. Here are a few examples: