How is it possible to note very fast?

Nikolai Bobrov, modified 2 Years ago at 4/2/22 9:51 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 4/2/22 9:51 PM

How is it possible to note very fast?

I'm a complete noob in meditation and have been doing noting practice for a month now. In MTCB, Daniel writes that we should be trying to perceive as many unique sensations as possible per second. I just don't see how this is possible. For example, he says to look for many sensations in the breath. How can I do this? I see the inhale as one sensation and the exhale as one sensation. Other than that, even when I'm noting all sensations that I'm experiencing, I can only get up to 2 notes/second, maximum.  I don't see any more things to note than that. So I guess my question is, is seeing many sensations per second something that will come by itself with experience, or am I just practicing wrong?
thumbnail
Sigma Tropic, modified 2 Years ago at 4/2/22 11:02 PM
Created 2 Years ago at 4/2/22 11:02 PM

RE: How is it possible to note very fast?

We need more information on what practice technique you're doing. MCTB2 is not much of a technique/how to book. Get "Practical Insight Meditation" M. Sayadaw. Please try harder and report back. Look at the sensations. 
Nikolai Bobrov, modified 2 Years ago at 4/3/22 7:58 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 4/3/22 7:58 AM

Sorry about that, I should have clarified that I have been doing the instructions in that book. Specifically, noting whatever arises, and when there's nothing special going back to the breath.
Martin, modified 2 Years ago at 4/3/22 12:21 AM
Created 2 Years ago at 4/3/22 12:21 AM

If you look, you may find that the in-breath has a beginning, a middle, and an end. If you can find each of them, you will triple the number of things that you notice. If you keep looking, you may notice a pause at the end of the in-breath. Sometimes it is there, sometimes it is not. That's another thing to notice.