RE: I have a jhana focal point in the back of my head

Bruce Bentz, modified 1 Year ago at 5/2/22 1:00 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 5/2/22 1:00 AM

I have a jhana focal point in the back of my head

Hello,
I've been meditating for 4 years and for most of that time I've noticed a focal point in the back of my awareness.  I can direct pleasurable sensations and other meditation energy to this focal point and it dramatically increases their energy.  I was just recently told that this is an unconventional way to the first jhana.  
Is there a name for this focal point?
I was told that Daniel Ingram knows all about this and I should ask him.  Of course, how to do this was not specified, and I can't seem to find his email address lying about.
Are there other authors that I can ask about this phenomena?
thumbnail
Linda ”Polly Ester” Ö, modified 1 Year ago at 5/2/22 1:07 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 5/2/22 1:07 AM

If you are referring to the back of your head as in the title, that's where the pineal gland is located. 
B B, modified 1 Year ago at 5/2/22 7:38 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 5/2/22 5:31 PM

Hi Bruce, more details would be helpful. Where exactly in the back of your head is this focal point? An illustration would be ideal. It could be the crown chakra.

Incidentally, the cyclic energy associated with the nanas has recently shifted for me so that it's now moving through the crown, and when fruitions occur, the energy jumps back to the upper part of the parietal lobe region. There's also a build up of energy in the frontal lobe above the third eye chakra. For years the energy would first gather in the prefrontal cortex and then expand around to the sides (temporal lobes) before jumping back after a fruition. I'm not sure what to make of this. It seemed that the cycling shifted to the crown only after a certain degree of nondual perception was locked in. It would be interesting if the crown chakra was already opened for you after 4 years.