Thoroughly Disorientated

Brent Stewart, modified 1 Year ago at 6/2/22 7:18 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 6/2/22 6:37 AM

Thoroughly Disorientated

Hello there,

I have been practicing for about 25 years or so, and have reached a place in my life – being a first-time parent, for example – where I feel driven to take stock of where I am.

When it comes to my spiritual practice, I face a challenge: I don’t really have the slightest clue.

Part of the reason is that I’ve always had this type of ‘if you meet the buddha on the road’ attitude to my practice; experiences come and go but I just keep on going (somewhere I know not).

Another reason is that I have had a pretty eclectic history of influences. The main traditions I have interfaced with, in no particular order are Zen, Dzogchen, Advaita Vedanta, neo-Advaita, Taoism, and Christian mysticism.

Yet another reason is that my memory is the shits.

I’ve never had an in-person teacher, and so never anyone to help me orientate to a map. What’s more, until now, I’ve honestly never had the urge to locate myself on any map.

So, if you have a spare moment or two, I was wondering if you might help me find where I am. If so, I thank you very much; if not, I totally get it time is scant.  

If you do leave a reply, don’t worry about having to explain any jargon, I can figure it out on my own end!

So, I tried compiling some of (what seem to me) to be the most important experiences and describe them below. I’ve done so many different practices it’s hard to really tie any of the to any single one in particular – so I don’t even try. I also have had them multiple times in the past and they tend to revisit me from time to time in the present. The list is in somewhat chronological order, though.