RE: New stages in my practice

Freya , modified 1 Year ago at 6/23/22 2:09 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 6/23/22 11:42 AM

New stages in my practice

Hi all,

I’ve been reading this forum for a couple of years now, but I haven’t posted much. 

I have a regular practice of between 1-3 hours daily and am currently doing quite regular silent retreats of 1 week. My current practice is a mix of breath, metta, samadi and just sitting. Plus I do Qigong. I've been meditating for 8 years now.
I’m pretty sure I had a path attainment 3 weeks ago on retreat. It was very different to anything else I’ve experienced in meditation. 
After 7 days in silent meditation I came out of the shrine room and looking at the beautiful landscape, was thinking about the concept of emptiness and suddenly I just got it, that I am nothing and became everything, there was a real shift in my visual perception, like the world flipped inside out. From then on it felt if you were to hold a mirror up to me, I would not be there but the universe would be reflected back. Afterwards coming home the perception was the same, when I got up each morning, it felt sure if I looked into the mirror the universe would look back, it wasn’t scary, but beautiful, my heart was overflowing with compassion. This lasted for about ten days and then I think I just got used to the change. My meditation seemed to take on a life of it’s own, I didn’t meditate for 4 days, but instead rested but my mind just went through the Jhanas, when I did meditate I started from the 3rd Jhana. 

I am in no way a fully enlightened being and have much work to do, but feel like I have just stepped onto the path.  
I guess my question is how did people cope between this stage and the next stages. How did you settle into this way of being?  A feeling of apprehension is creeping up on me about attaining new paths.  Except things seem to be moving quickly and with another retreat booked in 2 weeks, I’m feeling quite nervous.
thumbnail