2 week retreat in late december 2022/early january 2023

yy f, modified 1 Year ago at 8/30/22 6:00 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 8/30/22 5:48 PM

2 week retreat in late december 2022/early january 2023

Hi all,

I'm looking to do a 2 week retreat in late december 2022 or early january 2023. I live in the US and would prefer to stay here to minimize travel costs. I have been practicing Mahasi style/reading MOI for the past 4 months and recently attended the Mahasi retreat at IMS with Kamala Masters, Steve Armstrong, Deborah Helzer, Tara Mulay, and Winnie Nazarko. I feel like I made amazing progress on that retreat (I think at least got to High EQ, had 3 events I thought might have been fruitions but not sure - trying to refrain from mapping, as I was advised by the teachers) and want to keep things rolling (I have been sitting ~2 hours a day, trying to note whenever I am not working). I feel like I have a solid grasp of the instructions and am very motivated, so I may not absolutely need a teacher - but I feel like having access to a teacher, even if they end up just saying a few words, can sometimes be incredibly helpful (even if only to support faith). Annoying requirement - I need to sit in a chair cuz of back issues.

So my current options are:
  1. Personal retreat at home
  2. At a center/somewhere with retreat support, but without guidance/teachers
    - Bhavana Society year end retreat (held in silence, so no guidance/teachers - also gonna be cold...)
  3. Full retreat with support and non-Mahasi guidance/teachers
    - Abhayagiri (seems like it would require lots of working meditation, which I suppose is okay - would have access to monks in Thai forest lineage, is that compatible with Mahasi)
  4. Full retreat with support and Mahasi guidance/teachers
    - Saraniya Dhamma (was told by admin they are having a December retreat, not sure deets - in UK)
Would really appreciate any advice!

Thanks,
​​​​​​​YY
thumbnail
Jeremy P, modified 1 Year ago at 11/12/22 6:58 PM