Need help finding a teacher in Hawaii

Bradley Sampson, modified 1 Year ago at 9/18/22 7:52 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 9/18/22 7:52 PM

Need help finding a teacher in Hawaii

I'm moving from Oahu, Hawaii from Japan in a couple months and want to know if y'all know of any qaulity teachers in the Hawaii area? I have been meditating on and off for last 10 years but have gotten really serious the last few months. I meditate about an hour daily and sometimes more and things are starting to happen and would love to have the guidance of a teacher.A in person teacher would be ideal but even remotely would definately work as well.

Thanks all for your time and any help
thumbnail
Noah D, modified 1 Year ago at 9/18/22 8:22 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 9/18/22 8:22 PM

RE: Need help finding a teacher in Hawaii

I don't know.

these ppl are probably legit mahasi style - https://vipassanahawaii.org/about/teachers/

I wouldn't show up expecting any open discourse on the progress of insight. But if you showed up regularly for say, 6 months or a year, the topic could probably be softly/gradually broached in 1-1 conversations with a teacher.

I also saw the chozen-ji rinzai temple there.  That's the same tradition that meido Moore teaches in & I like his exposition about rinzai , it's a little more pragmatic -oriented.
Bradley Sampson, modified 1 Year ago at 9/18/22 11:51 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 9/18/22 11:51 PM

Thanks you so much for taking the time to respond to my inquiry Noah. This was helpful and I'll check out these links and info.
shargrol, modified 1 Year ago at 9/19/22 11:13 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 9/19/22 11:13 AM

I've done a retreat at IMS that was co-led by Michele McDonald, she definitely knows her stuff. That would be on my short list for checking out, but it's really important to find someone that is a good match for you.

These folks will not likely talk about maps and paths and whatnot, but it can be so helpful to talk with someone who knows the territory.