Need some guidance around

Luke NoHead, modified 1 Year ago at 9/25/22 5:25 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 9/25/22 4:30 AM

Need some guidance around

Hello, my first post. Hopefully this is the correct location.

I have been practising for 3 months now. I have attempted meditation before, both on and off for a few years until I would invariably drift away, but my current sustained effort feels a lot more focused and much more fruitful then before. I feel I have much better information now and its making a marked difference. I try to do one hour a day, but also continue the practise off cushion, as  I go about my life.

I started off with breath focus , feeling the air caress my nostrils and my belly move up and down. I would then fall into thought or notice things around me like sounds, sensatiions of the body and then return to the breath. It was very peaceful and I got a lot out of this.

After reading Daniels book and listening to Shinzen Young, I have started using the Mahasi Sayadaw noting technique, but I am unsure about where I am right now...namely should I return to the breath and is the resulting experience this is giving me, 'too much too soon'.

I start off with the Arising and Passing of my breath as recommended by Sayadaw , but this can only be sustained for a small period as right away I become aware of so much going on via my active noting, that it's not possible to use the breath rising / passing as a point of concentration, unless I choose to ignore (for want of a better word) and home in on only the breath by keep returning to it (as I did before in my practise). I guess there is no pause for me to return from. I find labeling and noting becomes even a challenge to keep up, as noting becomes something based on microseconds of observation as there is so much going on.  I find I end up with this experience of my awareness of reality turns to a  flickering experience as my attention darts around at all that is happening.