Experience of being out of my head?

Curious Potato, modified 1 Year ago at 9/25/22 9:36 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 9/25/22 9:36 AM

Experience of being out of my head?

Hello everybody...

I need some help identifying this thing that started happening recently during meditation. Some background:

I've been practicing for ~15 years, sometimes more and sometimes less diligently. I usually practice between 20m-1h a day. I had periods where I was extremely interested in technicalities of meditation/buddhism and neuroscience of it all. During those periods I practiced and read a lot (MCTB, Shinzen Young, "Seeing that frees", "Manual of insight", "Mind illuminated", etc.). I'm convinced I went through A&P a few months after beginning the practice - the experience was extremely strong and it touched and changed me deeply. Unfortunately I was also smoking a lot of pot back then and I went a bit crazy during/after the experience... Crazy enough to be locked in mental hospital for a month... Anyway, I kept practicing - the experience I had kind of made it impossible for me not to practice... It showed me without any doubt that there is something worthwhile to meditation. So between then and now I did have a few experiences but I think I did a good job of not obsessing over them and just kept going. I'm not sure I crossed into the dark night territory - I did come close to depression a few times but if this was practice-related I don't really know...

So past few months I've been focusing on observing the three characteristics. I think I've become ok at perceiving them and I am definitely able to see them one-by-one in each conscious experience. I'm not sure about seeing them all at once though, maybe there's some more work do do here.