What was this?

Tommy P, modified 1 Year ago at 11/8/22 5:42 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 11/8/22 5:42 AM

What was this?

BACKGROUND

I've been practicing TM style mantra meditation for about 8 months. On average 1.5 times per day, always 20 minutes per session. Also, once a month, I will attend a TM meditation event with about 30 - 60 people who all practice TM, and then meditate 3 - 6 sessions of 20 minutes. I find meditating in a group to be a lot more powerful.

For the last half year I have also been trying to trace the intellectual history of this system. I've found influences from the Yoga Sutra's of Patanjali. There's also influences from Advaita Vedanta, as the OG Guru, Brahmananda Saraswati who taught Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, was called the 'Shankarachya' (reincarnation of Adi Shankara) of Jyotirmath monastery. There's also influences from Kashmir Shaivism and the Bija Mantra's. And the intellectual framework of there being 4 states of consciousness; Jagrat, Swapna, Sushupti and Turiya comes from the Mandukya Upanishads. (Awake, Dream, Sleep, and Consciousness being Conscious of itself). 

Rupert Spira explains how a Bija Mantra Meditation style practice works in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uy6jdK_f3wo&ab_channel=RupertSpira.

So now allegedly according to my Guru, practicing the mantra meditation brings you into contact with Turiya. This in turn gives you a lot of 'energy' with which you can bring your samskara's to awareness and dissolve these conditioned patterns. In turn, this excess 'consciousness' will start to more and more pervade in your waking life, and progressively lead to 5th stage 'Cosmic consciousness', 6th stage 'God consciousness' and 7th stage 'Unity consciousness'. In my subjective experience it seems that occasionally I will experience a smittering of cosmic consciousness.

THE EXPERIENCE